Millionaire’s Holiday

The single best band from the lounge-core movement of the 90’s remains Combustible Edison. I first heard their perfect 1960’s horror movie theme, “Carnival Of Souls” on KCRW in 1992 and I was hooked. I found a cassette copy of their debut on Sub-Pop Records, “I, Swinger” and driving in my 1964 Cadillac Sedan De Ville was never the same. I wrote my only fan mail to the band, in the style of a sybartic swinger and they responded with a kind note saying mine was their favorite letter, sending along some boss CE stickers and coasters. I was never one of those proto- zoot-suit SWINGERS in hipster hats and shiny shoes, I’ve just always loved lounge music and grew up in the LP shadow of Herb Alpert, Nino Rota, Martin Denny, Francis Lai and Tiki backyard parties with Japanese plastic lanterns.

Combustible Edison soon proved their cultural cache when they did the brilliant soundtrack for the underrated FOUR ROOMS (1995). I was fortunate to see them jazz up Bimbo’s in San Francisco, where the opening act was a film the band had made. CE released only three studio discs, and then quietly disbanded after 1998’s lush, lovely and haunting, “The Impossible World.” I am sad as they were the only band worthy of creating pitch-perfect and unique hybrid lounge/soundtrack tunes, but we still have their music. Cruising down Ocean Boulevard in Long Beach at dusk as their signature song, “Millionaire’s Holiday,” wafted past the Caddy fins made me luxuriate in my Southern California beach paradise, if only for a few minutes.  Be a swinger if you dare.

4118XEZ4FDL._AA240_

3 Responses to “Millionaire’s Holiday”

  1. jkeeling Says:

    i like. I like this too

  2. christian Says:

    Sweeeet.

  3. Pretty cool post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your posts.

    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon!

Leave a Reply

