Favorite Scene Theatre: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

What better way to spend Friday than cutting class? Here’s my favorite scene in FBDO, primarily because it succinctly sets up the exact way one should feel and prepare for a day off. I advise all of you out there to take a break from whatever constitutes “school” in your life now…Save Ferris!

4 Responses to “Favorite Scene Theatre: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)”

  1. Another Hughes movie that I’m not too sure about it. My friends insist that I’m supposedt to like it all the time, but it kinda makes a hero out of a total prick, and it doesn’t do much with that idea beyond idolizing. I’m more sympathetic to the principal and the sister, both of whom are wonderfully performed, though Broderick is good too.

  2. christian Says:

    Chuck, I was very ambivalent about FBDO on opening night. I was the only one of my friends who didn’t like (or even noted) the Reagan-era subtext of FBDO. “Just Do It!” And of course, I was the only one empathetic to Rooney. But. The film has a wonderful free-wheelin’ style and the fact that Hughes template for teen films included them admiring great works of art is the opposite of todays sex-and-shit-teen movie manifestos.

  3. Good points. And Alan Ruck makes the whole thing count for more than it should, and even Ferris’ girl has a vulnerability that wouldn’t be allowed today. There are things in the picture to admire.

  4. christian Says:

    Like Mia Sara. Meeoooow.

Leave a Reply

