Lionel Jeffries RIP

Living In Cinema alerted me to the sad news that one of my favorite 60’s character actors has passed onto that great footlight in the sky. Lionel Jeffries was the archetypal British eccentric in films like CAMELOT (1967), CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG (1968) and my personal favorite role of his, THE FIRST MEN IN THE MOON (1964). He had that stiff-upper-lip, fought-in-the-Boer War, absent-minded-inventor persona down pat, major.

3 Responses to “Lionel Jeffries RIP”

  1. This made me surprisingly sad as I wrote about it.

    It just feels like all the bits of my childhood are dying off.

  2. I know the feeling. But damn, the guy lived a long posh life, eh guv?

  3. Yeah and he left behind plenty for us to continue to cherish.

Leave a Reply

