Saturday Afternoon Matinee ’77

19 Responses to “Saturday Afternoon Matinee ’77”

  1. Shocker, Christian D talking about some old-ass shit.

    What did Tony Soprano say about nostalgia being “the lowest form of conversation.”

    STEP OUT OF THE OLD. But seriously, I’m as big of a trapped in the past, mooning, my heyday past me by motherfucker as you’ll ever meet, but when it comes to movies, music, tv, pop culture, pussy, I still want to EMBRACE THE NEW. Damn, dude, do you have like a SEPARATE blog where you talk about shit that’s happened in the last quarter-century?

    • christian Says:

      Lex, there’s nothing older than your schtick.

      • No, it’s a legit question. And bear in mind, I like a LOT of the movies you post about, and it’s fun to reminisce about old formative 60s, 70s, 80s cinema. That appears to be the mission statement of this blog, so I guess I can’t really criticize a place with that intended focus for sticking to it.

        But just out of wholesale curiosity… Do you even go to new movies? Or do you just haunt the New Beverly, the Silent Theater, the Aero, the midnight shows at the Nuart, naysaying ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING new that comes down the path?

        Movies are as good now as they’ve ever been, and anybody who disagrees with that has a bad case of “everything was better when I was 12.” In any given year of the aughts there were a fair share of future immortal classics, many of them as readily apparent as any of the stuff you moon over from your childhood years. I’m only going by this blog and your posts on Poland’s blog, but everything has this “they don’t make ’em like they used to” tone, which is the surest sign of getting OLD. And of losing all perspective because of bitterness and entitlement and arrogance, as if the arbitrary things filtered through one’s youthful reminiscences are so much more valid than anyone else’s experiences which came before or, yes, AFTER.

        It seems to be part and parcel with your super-liberal distrust of anything and everything peddled to you by The Man, but face it, these 70s space operas and Village People musicals weren’t the works of collectivist Marxist peasants who stepped out of the Zapata campfire to make them to delight young CD out of good-nature love for mankind, then they scampered off back into the woods to rally with Che and burn all the profits.

        You’re seriously one of the stranger people in this whole LA movie blog sphere, sort of like Sellers’ BEING THERE character only if he were brighter and more verbose, drifting through eras clinging to this freshman-year college firebrand Utopian earnestness… If you don’t have at LEAST a part time job on college campuses, you’re TOTALLY missing out on your audience in life, because you’d be the fucking KING of that set. You front like you actually write for movies or write about movies, but face it, like all too many of us, you’re just a regular, overeducated, likable schmo who’s not making a living from *any of that shit*. You should get a nice job taking dictation, or flipping burgers, or as a car salesman.

        • christian Says:

          You must really be in love with me.

        • Personally, we are still too close to all these new films to speak highly of them. Why old films are written about so often and passionately is that we’ve had time and some perspective to regard them in a different light than say, MYSTIC RIVER which is only a few years old.

          In some respects, yer right, there was plenty of crap films in the 1970s, 1980s, etc. Every decade has a ton of awful films which makes the great ones stand out all that much more. Now, you could make an argument that maybe a certain decade had more great films than another. It’s really too early to say for 2000s as we don’t have much perspective on ’em.

          • christian Says:

            Well, LexG has no real point to make except self-loathing and to provoke response — I eliminated his scintillating follow-ups of FAG and BITCH etc.

            Obviously my choice here is films of the 60’s/70’s (and lately 80’s) with a healthy dose of “whateva” that piques my pop carousel (I did pieces on AVATAR and THE WOLFMAN and my Netflix Streaming Theatre usualy includes recent releases).
            As any faithful reader of TD knows by now….especially Lex, the most devout.

            • yeah, fwiw i happened to read those gems from lex late last night while catching up on the blog and i SAVED them so if that abusive hateful homophobic little psycho turd ever tries to play the “who, me? i only respond to terrible insults against me!” innocent card again i can quote his idiocy back to him verbatim (if i can be bothered to waste my time)

              WANKER

              anyway, ‘the dream’ is great as is

            • he called you gaylord. that is so LA.

              FTW xian

  2. christian Says:

    Now. Has anybody actually seen FANTASTIC ANIMATION FESTIVAL? I recall some ads and this poster, but that be it. I know it features Will Vinton’s famous short CLOSED MONDAYS…

  3. I saw THE FANTASTIC ANIMATION FESTIVAL theatrically a few times when it opened, once on Long Island, once in Phoenix (while on acid), once in San Francisco, the repeat viewings prompted by my jones for Pink Floyd and the animated short “French Windows”. I believe the FEST was released on VHS, though I never saw it on video. “French Windows” hasn’t aged well. I recall “Closed Mondays” and Vinton’s “Mountain Music”, as well as the midnight staple “Bambi Meets Godzilla”, but the rest of the FEST is kind of a blur for me.

    • christian Says:

      Now that’s what I’m talkin’ about! Awesome. I could only imagine the audience of geeks and heads in that Phoenix audience…

      It was released on early VHS from a long-defunct company I believe….

      • The Phoenix venue I saw it in was the Sombrero Playhouse. They changed their bill every other day. Another cool theatre near there was the Valley Art in Tempe. I SHOULD be living in that region — I love the desert — but marraige and family keeps me on the East Coast.

        If you’re searching for really obscure posters from that era, sometime between 1974 and 1977 a distributor paired Romero’s NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD (1968) with Abrian Maben’s PINK FLOYD (aka LIVE AT POMPEII, 1972). There was a poster for this double feature, though I doubt more than a few hundred were printed. I don’t know who thought the two pictures would compliment one another but, despite my love of most all things Floydian, even I had a hard time staying awake through Maben’s movie. You can see clips from it on YouTube; the highlight being “Mademoiselle Nobs,” a blues number with vocals by a singing dog.

  4. Hey Christian, sorry man.

    :)

  5. Any dickhead and his aunt can (and do) write about contemporary movies. Do we really need Christian’s input on THE A TEAM or SEX AND THE CITY 2? One of a number of things I respect about his digs here is that he’s carved out a specific purpose.

Leave a Reply

