Jess Franco RIP

Admission: I’ve only seen two entire Jess Franco films, VENUS IN FURS and of course, VAMPYROS LESBOS (1970), which may be the only one to see  — and hear, since it features one of the greatest sexadelic scores ever by M. Hubler and S. Schwab. This soundtrack is still in rotation on my iPod and always pops up at every party I’ve had since its release in 1995. To say Franco was prolific is an understatement, and whatever you think of his unique oeuvre, he did it his way. I can’t think of a better way to honor him than with my favorite track from VAMPYROS LESBOS, “The Message,” which now holds dozens of great personal memories for me. I hope Franco and Soledad Miranda are sharing a glass of celestial wine and laughing at the perversions of humanity….

Leave a Reply

