Retro-View: The Yakuza (1974)

In honor of Sydney Pollack, I thought it would be cool to turn the Retro-View onto my favorite film of his: THE YAKUZA. I was fortunate to see this in the theater thanks to my brother, who had already exposed me to the wonderful world of Bruce Lee at the height of 70’s “chop socky” exploitation, making me a martial arts fan for life by age six. I vividly recall watching this film in the theater, fascinated by the coded Japanese culture amid the bloody gun/sword duels (along with YOU ONLY LIVE TWICE (1967), this was my first intro to the samurai mythos). I sat enraptured by the adult action along with the film’s exotic and fascinating tone. Thank Gawd the “R” rating meant nothing to my family.

THE YAKUZA has an interesting history. The original script was written by Leonard and Paul Schrader in a desperate attempt to sell something commercial. They were broke, hungry, nihilistic and they wrote the script in a few week’s fever dream. In turn, their agent sent the screenplay out, brilliantly pitched as “THE GODFATHER meets Bruce Lee” and the Schraders took home 300,000 dollars — a spec script sale record at the time. Elaine Lennon has a detailed look at the authorship issues in this piece from Senses of Cinema. So the film has relevance besides its own high values, as it launched Paul and Leonard Schrader into Hollywood. And if you’re a movie scribe and want to see an example of a lean and mean screenplay, watch THE YAKUZA. Robert Towne was brought in to do an effective rewrite in his more sensitive voice but the story belongs to the Schrader psyche of flawed honor and rigid discipline.

The story centers on Harry Kilmer (played by Robert Mitchum in a choice role) as he journeys to Japan to help his old friend George Tanner (the epic Brian Keith) to rescue his daughter from the clutches of the Yakuza. Kilmer must re-face the Japanese woman, Tanaka Eiko (Keishi Keiko) he once loved and her brother, Tanaka Ken (the legendary Takakura Ken) who hates him. This leads to a complex weave of friend and filial conflict within the samurai violence of the neon Tokyo underworld.

Of course, Sydney Pollack might have seemed like a strange choice for this pulpy material after the mega-success of THE WAY WE WERE (1973), but he did help define the 70’s low-key thriller template with THE THREE DAYS OF THE CONDOR (1975) and THE YAKUZA is a perfect prologue to his skills in the genre. Yet Pollack says in this brief nifty interview that he didn’t want to make a “genre” film the way Schrader wanted. To that end, Robert Towne’s excellent dialogue subdues what could be outlandish situations and fits them into the realm of possibility. Which is all for the better, as Pollack’s theatrical naturalism combined with the samurai film’s geometric stylization works wonders.

No doubt due to Pollack’s instinctive gift for working with actors, the ensemble cast is terrific, especially Robert Mitchum in what I can safely say is one of his great performances. He’s so good that you can’t believe he’s not acknowledged more for this part but for the film’s relative obscurity. Mitchum had a reputation as an iconic “lazy and cool” actor who could do a lot with nothing or vice versa. He’s no slouch for Pollack and his tough-guy vulnerability here has rarely been so layered, so appealing. Brian Keith always makes a terrific foil, his volcanic personality complementing Mitchum’s world-weariness; they’re just two old sonsabitches.

I particularly love Richard Jordan, one of my absolute 70’s favorites, as Dusty, a sensitive bodyguard fascinated by the Japanese codes of honor. Sit-com staple Herb Edelman is just right as a Buddhist chess-playing weapons dealer. Then there’s Takakura Ken, one of Japan’s biggest stars who inspired the Schraders script to begin with. He brings all the gravitas of his Toei yakuza series to his pivotal role in the same way Sonny Chiba did in KILL BILL (it’s clear that Tarantino is a fan of this film too). Ken doesn’t say much, but his taciturn face speaks volumes. And the man knows how to wield one mean lightning sword of death. Together, Mitchum and Ken make a supercool team. Mitchum’s soulfull offering to Ken at the end is a career highlight.

Beautifully lensed by two cinematographers, Duke Callaghan and Kozo Okazaki in anamorphic Panavision, THE YAKUZA also faithfully recreates the widescreen compositions so indigenous to Japanese filmmaking. Perhaps surprisingly, Pollack truly excels in the staging of gun and sword play. These are some of the most unique fight scenes of the 1970’s and beyond. The violence is stylized but realistic. When somebody is pierced by a sword, they tremble and mutter while dying; as limbs are hacked, characters show nausea and revulsion; while bullets fly in chaos, people scream and stumble awkwardly. The final ten minute showdown in a yakuza stronghold is pure cinema, and Pollack employs a variety of techniques to give verisimilitude to such an unlikely scenario. It’s one of my all-time favorite action set-pieces.

I’m glad I got to experience THE YAKUZA in the theater, where its 70’s melancholy ambiance (Dave Gruisin’s soundtrack even sounds exactly like 1974) enveloped me like the butter in my popcorn, giving me an early appetite for the Japanese gangster film. The recent DVD release has been lushly transfered with an in-depth, engaging commentary by Sydney Pollack. It’s clear he’s proud of this overlooked samurai noir and considers it one of his best films. I agree. Domo.

12 Responses to “Retro-View: The Yakuza (1974)”

  1. I’m still mourning Sydney. But I must admit The Yakuza is one I missed. No need for it, either. The bloody thing was on TV consistently on a regular basis through the late 80s and into the 90s. I guess I just thought my beloved Mr. Pollack would be an odd mix with the material and I never bothered.

    The Japanese underworld has a code of honour similar to the (Sicilian) Mafia. But anyone who’s watched THE GODFATHER TRILOGY or THE SOPRANOS knows that that particular code can be very flexible when they want to get rid of someone.

    I’ve loved ROBERT MITCHUM forever. Now THERE was a man. He was fairly underrated as an actor and not terribly well respected for his craft. But he knew what he was doing. He was frank about the tough guy image being a lot of nonsense. He had a rebellious soul and didn’t like anyone disrespecting him or giving him orders. But he was a real softy. SHIRLEY MacLAINE, who had a long standing thing with him, said as much.

    I thought he was particularly brilliant in RYAN’S DAUGHTER, cast against type playing the sensitive teacher that married the willful and passionate Rose. (Now who – besides the master DAVID LEAN – would EVER have envisioned ROBERT MITCHUM as a lousy lay? Um, NOT ME.) The scene where he watches from the window as Rose runs up the hill to meet her lover is killer. The look on the poor man’s face…

    SARAH MILES and JOHN MILLS were both brilliant. Mr. Mills won the Oscar. (DESERVEDLY.) Ms. Miles SHOULD HAVE. But Mr. Mitchum should have had substantial credit for the beauty and the power of that piece. He anchors it in a subtle fashion and makes it what it is.

    I really should pick up THEY SHOOT HORSES, DON’T THEY? and THREE DAYS OF THE CONDOR now that Sydney’s gone. The fact that the former was bleak never put me off. The whole cast is fantastic: GIG YOUNG (Oscar winner), SUSANNAH YORK, RED BUTTONS…But Jane was a revelation in that. That was the first time that the industry really took notice of her. It was the very beginning of her serious phase.

    TDOTC always put me off because, even though I like the picture (and still think that Mr. Redford and Ms. Dunaway were wonderful), it still plays into the one nighter phenomenon that became popular in the 60s and 70s. The fact that it’s by necessity given the events that unfold doesn’t make it any more appealing to me.

    “We had a moment in time” and blahblahblah. RIGHT. Now and then there are times in your life when only casual will do the trick. But one night? Seems pretty cold and ridiculous to me. I’d just as soon not waste my energy or expertise. Fictionalized depictions of such don’t rock my little red boat either.

    Does that make me a romantic? I dunno. SUE ME…

    Nevertheless, gorgeous writing as always, honey boy. Seeing as you recommended this, if it ever comes on the tube again I’ll watch it.

    Just because you said so….

  2. This should be in my house tonight, due to your recommendation. As far as I’m concerned Christian, you’re one of the go to guys for a certain kind of off the beaten path cinema that requires a bit of ingenuity to find and (sometimes) appreciate. I had known of The Yakuza due to a Schrader preoccupation a few years back, but had never seen it, and somehow didn’t know that one of my favorite leading men was starring. Looking forward to it. Good work sir.

  3. Sounds like this is right up my alley, but I had never heard of it. Certainly on my radar now. I always enjoy reading about how certain films have factored into your personal experiences, Christian. Thanks for the heads up here.

  4. Add me to the list of people who haven’t seen Yakuza. Thanks for getting me amped up for it, Christian.

  5. christian Says:

    Who knew THE YAKUZA would get such great responses?

    Miranda: You should see this for it’s quite elegiac and romantic despite the violence. Especially if you’re a true blue Mitchum gal. I’m ambivalent about RYAN’S DAUGHTER. I think Mitchum too low-key and the film’s agony too amped up. It’s visually spectacular and it’s Lean, but I prefer DR ZHIVAGO…

    Chuck: Can’t wait to see what you think. I don’t want to oversell this thing, but I watched it again last night for background to the review and I just kept getting sucked in. The DVD looks fantastic too. I’m trying to find my niche for off road cinema and I’m glad others are interested too.

    Evan: Thanks, I think you’ll dig it. I’m definitely putting my reviews in terms of my own experience watching them, since it seems to be a factor in my perception.

    Craig: You will find much to enjoy here.

    And if one of you does not find the film worthy, I present my pinky…

  6. As I was looking over Pollack’s filmography, it occurred to me this was a glaring oversight on my part. Your piece seals the deal. I’m hitting Eddie Brandt’s after work.

  7. christian, I do identify with Lara to a degree. But the reason I love RD is because Rosie is ME.

    True, I have never been unfaithful (uh…TECHNICALLY – gotta get out when the getting’s good) and I would never put anyone through a hell like that (contrary to popular opinion, I’m NOT that selfish) but the rest of it is pretty much dead on.

    When she told the priest that she wanted MORE I was sitting watching it at home at 14 and I thought, There’s the slippery slope, babe – and then it fell over just like dominos. I understood IMMEDIATELY.

    But Rosie – much as I adored her – had to learn the hard way.

    Sometimes that’s just the way it goes…

  8. christian Says:

    I’ll have to watch it again on a big screen or big screen tv. I do love Miles in it.
    And of course any good catholic would want to go bad after watching this.

  9. Hah hah. You are a perceptive gentleman, my dear christian.

    RIGHT ON THE MONEY…

  10. christian Says:

    One tries.

    I just found this cool site with a bit of fantastic trivia on THE YAKUZA:

    http://www.coffeecoffeeandmorecoffee.com/archives/2008/05/sydney_pollack.html

    Apparently, Lee Marvin and Robert Aldrich were set to do the movie.

    Lee Marvin versus samurai swords. The mind boggles.

  11. Great review, Christian. The Yakuza is brilliant, and I can see why it’s your favoite among Pollack’s films.

    Of all of his films, I think this one ultimately features the most personality. Well, it and Tootsie. But I think that was one criticism I always had regarding Pollack. A splendid craftsman with a thorough understanding of many key ingredients of filmmaking (pacing being one of his real highlights) but most of his films have muted personalities, or tend to fit within broad genre definitions like the wonderful Three Days of the Condor.

    The Yakuza fits in a little, too, but it’s daring and it’s, to borrow the phrase used here, off the road. Pollack really flexed with this one, and it did indeed serve as a great prologue for Three Days of the Condor, and other films.

    And, again, you’re right: I’m an enormous Mitchum fan and I too consider his offering at the end to be a career highlight, along with the entire performance.

  12. And I like that THE YAKUZA is really TAXI DRIVER meets SHOGUN ASSASSIN.

Leave a comment