Watching the WATCHMEN

Now that I have you all here, I have to make a terrible geek confession. I. Have. Never. Read. Watchmen. Or at least all of it. I was sick of hearing about the damn thing by the end of the 80’s. Being the loyal contrarian I be, I rarely trust the collective fringe-cultural mind to tell me what it is supposed to be “brilliant” or “groundbreaking.” I mean, I’ve never even liked Tom Waits (not being into drunk watchmen_smileycircus clown music.). I honestly got the point of Alan Moore’s “Watchmen” when I skimmed through it: Superheroes Are Fascist. It’s a point worth exploring and Moore does so with a vengeance. I just always thought it a typically somewhat British prejudice, whose collective memory recalls the suffering brought on by other false Supermen of the Third Reich. I do understand. And Moore was right to bring this up in the red shadow of the Reagan era, when the US was exporting Rambo and Contra funds. My shallow reason for not getting into “Watchmen” was I never connected with Dave Gibbon’s influential art. That was always my basic comic contract, I had to love the art first. I don’t care if Shakespeare was writing. I’d take Jack Kirby over the Bard if it meant Kirby’s epic, dynamic panels.

rorshach2So I was happy to go see the long-awaited film version of WATCHMEN without any pesky comparison tests in my head doing commentary over the movie. And I’ll just say I was impressed with the film’s scope and subversion. You have to give credit to Zack Snyder and Warner Brothers for putting out such a dark and yes, adult, superhero film and keeping relatively true to the source material. Not everything works, but enough does to make it worth seeing. WATCHMEN is worth everything just for Jackie Earle Haley, another comeback kid, as the sociopathic vigilante Rorshach. Haley is magnificent and anchors the film. I think all the performers have their moments and the film is so damned unusual for its vast socio-political referents you have to be impressed. I also like how the 80’s nuclear war paranoia is brought back where it should be: right in front of us. So go see WATCHMEN and support cinema that’s daring to be different. I’ll be watching you…

9 Responses to “Watching the WATCHMEN”

  1. CD,

    Being your exact opposite, The Watchmen is one of the only READABLE comic books with an actual storyline and characters that aren’t otherwise found on the stalls of boys’ bathrooms around the world. The eye-candy bias of comics in this country, divorced from anything other than sophomoric prurience, is embarrassed by the wealth of quality comics and graphic novels in places like Japan and (as you well know) France. You only needed to skim it to learn that superheroes are fascist and that isn’t interesting to you? It’s a hell of a lot more interesting a theme than heap-big-man-throws-monster-villain-through-wall.

    Now, being your exact opposite, I probably won’t see this film. I have a skyrocketing deficit of trust in how stories I like/love are treated by Hollywood. The shadow of ‘300’ looms too large for me to entrust one of my favorites to the big screen. We’ll see…

    Also, as your exact opposite, after watching the trailer for ‘Inglorious Basterds” I was perfectly certain that I will never see that heap of crap. Brad Pitt’s slack on-again-off-again accent, the cheap staginess of the art direction, and the comic book-looking faces of the privates under his command show me that here we have nothing but a WWII propaganda film for the 21st century, but devoid of an actual enemy we are striving against, this is nothing but full-blown nihilism exploiting the easiest story and most picked-on villains in film history. But not only that, WWII is still an important cultural reference point, and one we can’t so cavalierly turn into a shallow Nazi-sploitation bloodfest. Those villages in France and Belgium are real places. The OSS and SAS were real people, and my grandfather who wore a uniform in that war is still alive. Turning it into Kill Bill with ’40’s style makes me a little bit sick. In the same way that Schindler’s List, as Hollywood’s only picture about the Holocaust, had to be about the ‘Good German.’ Can’t we stop raping our historical legacy and trivializing the sacrifices of our ancestors for quick thrills and box office guarantees? Apparently not.

  2. christian Says:

    Well, if anything, I feel impelled to go dig up that unread copy of WATCHMEN in one of my boxes and get a’readin’…When the comic came out, I was in my Ayn Rand “hero” phase… I still think you should go see the film as it’s as close to the source as we’ll probably get. And Jackie Earle Haley OWNS Rorshach.

    But I could actually see you as Rorshach too…

  3. Really interesting comments, DW – I’ll be thinking of all of that when I watch Inglorious Basterds.

    As far as Watchmen is concerned, Haley was a great fit for the part, but was the voice really necessary?

  4. christian Says:

    I loved Haley’s voice and thought his voice was better than Bale!

  5. I have to agree with DW about how bad Inglorious Basterds looks but that is only the first trailer you are referring to.

    If Inglorious Basterds fails, you might get your wish DW.

    @Christian. Haley was the best part of Watchmen.

    Haley voice is better than Bale’s.

  6. christian Says:

    And I think Rorshach’s full mask gives the voice a reason to sound gritty.

  7. I’m a contrarian, too, it appears, as I have yet to even look at any incarnation of “The Watchmen.” I try not to let “hype” dissuade me from something, especially films or books, but in this case it feels like a bunch of comic book fanatics growing up just enough to realize how supposedly “brilliant” this thing is. I still can’t seem to force myself to see the film yet. Or maybe I’m just cranky, burnt-out and lethargic.

  8. christian Says:

    I understand Alexander. I just think you should see it. I don’t know how anybody not interested in film could ignore this very unusual studio film.

  9. Thanks for the push, Christian.

    I’ll see it sometime next week and report back.

Leave a comment